Internal Audit

The HSE’s Internal Audit Division is responsible for ensuring that a comprehensive programme of audit work is carried out annually throughout the HSE. The purpose of this work is to provide assurance that controls and procedures are operated in accordance with best practice and with the appropriate regulations, and to make recommendations for the improvement of such controls and procedures. The HSE Audit Committee, to whom the Division reports, monitors the work of the Division. In addition the Division reports at the highest level in the HSE. The scope of Internal Audit covers all systems and activities throughout the HSE and bodies totally or partially funded by the HSE.

The Division comprises three units:

1.   Internal Audit Operations – this is the main part of the work of the Division and entails the completion of a programme of internal audits by each of the various audit offices (9 in all based throughout the country).

2.   ICT Audit – this comprises of a number of ICT audits conducted in the main by external specialist ICT auditors contracted to work for the Division.

3.   Special Projects & Investigations – this work is conducted by a small team in the Division together with, if required, specialist forensic accounting contractors.

National Director - Michael Flynn
63-64 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2.
Tel: 01 6626966
Email: michael.flynn@hse.ie

Assistant National Director - Operations (Dublin/Mid-Leinster & Dublin/North-East) - Geraldine Smith
Phoenix Hall, St. Mary's Hospital, Phoenix Park, Chapelizod, Dublin 20.
Tel: 076 695 9760
Email: geraldine.smith@hse.ie

Assistant National Director - Special Projects & Investigations (and Operations – HSE West) – Paul Hannon
Primary Care Unit, St. Loman's Hospital, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
Tel: 044 9395560
Email: paul.hannon@hse.ie

IT Audit Manager - Michelle Galvin
Bective Street, Kells, Co. Meath A82 NX32
Tel: 046 9251343 
Email: michelle.galvin@hse.ie

Assistant National Director – Operations (HSE South) – Alan Moran
Manorhamilton, Co Leitrim
Tel: 071 982 0528 
Email: alan.moran@hse.ie

General Manager – HSE West – Duncan Lewington
Holland Road, National Technological Park, Castletroy, Co. Limerick.
Tel: 061 464070
Email: duncan.lewington@hse.ie