Sepsis

The Sepsis Team

Sepsis is a common time- dependent medical emergency.  It can affect a person of any age, from any social background and can strike irrespective of underlying good health or concurrent medical conditions.

Internationally, approaches to sepsis management care based on early recognition of sepsis with resuscitation and timely referral to critical care have reported reductions in mortality from severe sepsis/septic shock in the order of 20-30%.

This website supports the implementation of the Sepsis Management:  National Clinical Guideline No. 6, which was quality assured by the National Clinical Effectiveness Committee (NCEC) and launched by the Minister for Health November 2014.

This website will be updated to reflect changes to forms and pathways as necessary.

Thank you for helping patients survive sepsis.

Launch of National Sepsis Report 2011-2015

Please click here to view the report.

National Sepsis ELearning Programme

The National Sepsis elearning programme was launched at the 3rd National Sepsis Summit September 2016 click here to complete the programme.

Contact Details:

Dr Vida Hamilton MB, FCARCSI, FJFICMI
National Clinical Lead Sepsis
E: vida.hamilton@hse.ie

Christina Doyle
Programme Manager
E: christina.doyle1@hse.ie

RCSI Hospital Group Mary Bedding
Mary.bedding@hse.ie
UL hospital Group Yvonne Young
yvonne.young@hse.ie
South/South West hospital group Sinead Horgan
Sinead.horgan@hse.ie
Dublin Midlands hospital group Karn Cliffe
Karn.Cliffe@hse.ie
Ireland East hospital group Celine Conroy
cconroy@iehg.ie
Saolta hospital group Ronan O'Cathasaigh
ronan.ocathasaigh@hse.ie