Find Health Services

 
 

Need help?

Call our Infoline

on 1850 24 1850

 
 

Upcoming Health Events in Ireland and Abroad

 

| March | April | May | June | July | August |September | October | November | December |


March
Mar 5  
                
National No Smoking Day Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310 500  www.cancer.ie or www.quit.ie
Mar 8                  
National Women’s Council of Ireland Phone: 01-8787248. Email: info@nwci.ie website www.nwci.ie
Mar 8 
World Kidney Day Irish Kidney Association Phone: 01-6205306. Email: info@ika.ie Web:www.ika.ie
Mar 15-23            
European-wide Action Week Against Racism www.unitedagainstracism.org
Mar 28                
Daffodil Day Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310 500  www.cancer.ie
Mar 24                
World TB Day WHO  http://www.stoptb.org/events/world_tb_day/
Mar 29 -April 5  
Donor Awareness Week Irish Kidney Association Phone: 01-6205306. Email: info@ika.ie | www.ika.ie

back to top

April
April 1-30
            
Bowel Cancer Awareness Month Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310 500  www.cancer.ie
April 5                 
National Public Speaking Finals Mental Health Promotion in Schools P 01-2841166  www.mentalhealthireland.ie
April 7                 
World Health Day WHO
April 7-11            
National Stroke Awareness Week Irish Heart Foundation Phone: 01-6685001 www.irishheart.ie
April 24-30       
World Immunisation Week WHO http://www.who.int/

back to top

May
May 1-31            
European Brain Month Neurological Alliance of Ireland Phone: 01- 8724120  www.nai.ie/ or www.epilepsy.ie
May 1-31             
Bealtaine Arts Festival for Older People Age & Opportunity Phone: 01-8057709 http://bealtaine.com /
May 1
Sunsmart Skin Cancer Awareness Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310 500  www.cancer.ie
May 5                  
World Hand Hygiene Day WHO  http://www.who.int/gpsc/5may/en/ or www.hse.ie
May 7                  
World Asthma Day Asthma Society of Ireland Phone 01-8178886 Email: office@asthmasociety.ie Web: http://www.asthmasociety.ie/
May 7                  
Young Social Innovators Conference Phone: 01-6458030 Email: info@youngsocialinnovators.ie Web: www.youngsocialinnovators.ie
May 12-16          
Active School Week Active School Week http://www.activeschoolflag.ie/
May 15,16,17       
Happy Heart Weekend Irish Heart Foundation Phone: 01-6685001 www.irishheart.ie
Mar 21                
World Day for Cultural Diversity for Dialogue and Development  www.un.org/en/events/culturaldiversityday/index.shtml
May 28                
World MS Day :MS Ireland  www.ms-society.ie/blog-articles/1492-world-ms-day-2014 Phone 016781600
May 31                
World No-Tobacco Day WHO Phone: +41227912108 Email: tobaccofree@euro.who.int | www. euro.who.int/tobaccofree

back to top

June
June 1-30            
Skipathon Schools Campaign Irish Heart Foundation Phone: 01-6685001 Email:info@irishheart.ie or Web: www.irishheart.ie
June 2                 
Dublin Women’s Mini Marathon Phone: 01 2930984 Email: info@womensminimarathon.ie Web: http://www.florawomensminimarathon.ie/
June 5 
World Environment Day UNEP  www.unep.org/wed/
June 9 -15           
International Men’s Health Awareness Week Men’s Health Forum in Ireland www.mhfi.org
June 9 -15           
National Carers Week www.carersireland.com Phone 1800240724 Email info@carersireland.com
June 14               
World Blood Donor Day WHO  www.giveblood.ie or www.who.int/worldblooddonorday/en/
June 14-22
National Bike Week www.bikeweek.ie
June 20               
World Refugee Day UN  www.un.org/en/events/refugeeday/
June 26
International Day Against Drug Abuse and Illicit trafficking UNODC  www.unodc.org

back to top

July
July 11                
World Population Day United Nations Population Fund  www.unfpa.org/public/world-population-day
July 28 
World Hepatitis Day World Hepatitis Alliance www.worldhepatitisalliance.org/en/who-what-where-when-and-how.html

back to top

August
Aug 1-7
              
World Breastfeeding Week WABA http://worldbreastfeedingweek.org/, http://www.waba.org.my/ or www.breastfeeding.ie
Aug 12                
International Youth Day UN  www.un.org/en/events/youthday/
Aug 15-17           
Community Games National Final Phone: 0906433388 Email: admin@communitygames.ie Web: www.communitygames.ie
Aug 22-24        
Community Games National Final Phone: 0906433388 Email: admin@communitygames.ie Web: www.communitygames.ie

back to top

September
Sept 1-30            
Irish Heart Month Irish Heart Foundation Phone:01-6685001  www.irishheart.ie
Sept 10               
World Suicide Prevention Day International Association for Suicide Prevention  www.iasp.info/wspd
Sept 15               
World Lymphoma Awareness Day www.cancer.ie, www.lymphomacoalition.org/
Sept 16-22          
European Mobility Week  www.mobilityweek.eu Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government http://www.environ.ie/
Sept 17        
Mouth Cancer Awareness Day Dublin Dental Hospital www.mouthcancerawareness.ie
Sept 21               
World Alzheimer’s Day Alzheimer’s Disease International  http://www.alz.co.uk/, www.alzheimer.ie
Sept 22               
World Car-Free Day www.worldcarfree.net/
Sept 25-Oct 1      
Positive Ageing Week Age Action Ireland Phone: 01-4756989 Email: info@ageaction.ie, Web: www.ageaction.ie
Sept 29
World Heart Day Irish Heart Foundation Phone:01-6685001  www.irishheart.ie | www.worldheartfederation.org

back to top

October
Oct 1 
                 
UN International Day of Older Persons  www.olderinireland.ie | www.un.org/en/events/olderpersonsday
Oct 1-31              
Breast Cancer Awareness Month Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310500  www.cancer.ie
Oct 1-31              
International Walk to School Month Roads & Traffic Dept 01 2222265 www.rsa.ie | http://www.iwalktoschool.org/
Oct 1-7           
National Breastfeeding Week Health Service Executive  www.breastfeeding.ie
Oct 3                  
Get the Girls Day Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310500  www.cancer.ie
Oct 5                  
World Teachers’ Day UNESCO www.ei-ie.org/ http://www.ei-ie.org/en/news/news_details/2324
Oct 6-13              
Fire Safety Week  www.firesafetyweek.ie
Oct 6-11              
National Arthritis Week Arthritis Ireland Phone: 01-6618188  www.arthritisireland.ie
Oct 10                
World Mental Health Day www.who.int/mediacentre/events/annual/world_mental_health_day/en/index.html | www.mentalhealthireland.ie
Oct 15                
Global Handwashing Day http://globalhandwashing.org/ghw-day Irish Forum for Global Health http://www.globalhealth.ie/
Oct 16         
World Food Day www.fao.org/getinvolved/en/
Oct 10–Nov10      
MS READaTHON Multiple Sclerosis 01-6781600 www.ms-society.ie/ Email info@ms-society.ie
Oct 27 
Dublin City Marathon Dublin City Marathon 01-6232250 office@dublinmarathon.ie | http://adidasdublinmarathon.ie/

back to top

November
Nov 1-30              
Movember Prostate Cancer Awareness campaign Irish Cancer Society Phone: 01-2310500  www.cancer.ie
Nov 14                
World Diabetes Day www.idf.org/worlddiabetesday | www.diabetes.ie
Nov 17-23            
One World Week National Youth Council Ireland http://www.youth.ie Phone 01 478 4122
Nov 20                
Universal Children’s Day www.un.org | www.unicef.org
Nov 25-10 Dec  
International 16 days of Action Opposing Violence Against Women Phone 01 678 8858  www.womensaid.ie

back to top

December
Dec 1                  
World AIDS Day WHO http://www.aids2014.org/Default.aspx?pageId=693/ Irish Family Planning Association  http://www.ifpa.ie; Phone: 01-6074456
Dec 3                  
International Day of Persons with Disabilities  www.un.org/disabilities/ Inclusion Ireland http://www.inclusionireland.ie
Dec 5                  
International Volunteer Day http://www.worldvolunteerweb.org/ | www.volunteeringireland.ie Phone: 6369446 Email: info@volunteer.ie
Dec 10 
International Human Rights Day Irish Human Rights Commission  www.ihrc.ie/ | www.un.org/en/events/humanrightsday/
Dec 18 
UN International Migrants Day www.un.org/en/events/migrantsday/

The information included is correct at the time of posting. Inclusion does not imply recommendation by the HSE.