Building a Better Health Service

Health Service Excellence Awards 2022

Health Service Excellence Award Winners 2022

The Awards

The Health Service Excellence Awards is an opportunity to showcase and celebrate examples of the great work that happens every day across our health service. The awards also promote shared learning for other teams through our awards success stories.

We are looking for projects that are making a real and lasting difference to our health and social services. The projects could be: 

  • improving access for patients,
  • delivering a higher of quality care to patients, or
  • promoting pride among staff about our services.

The Awards are open to all staff (HSE and non-HSE) working in the public health system and any service provided directly to the public including:

  • clinical services
  • primary care
  • social / family support
  • support services, such as catering, portering, maintenance, security, clerical management services - including people management, processes, information technology or service management initiatives.

Projects will need to demonstrate the HSE’s core values of Care, Compassion, Trust and Learning.

Applications are now closed.

All applications will now go through a shortlisting process. Shortlisted entries will be notified in May 2022.

All shortlisted applicants will be asked to present their project to a judging panel at this next stage. This will be an opportunity to explain further the merits of each project to the judging panel. The winners will be selected from this stage and will be judged based on the application and the presentation of the project. 

Watch highlights from the 2022 Health Service Excellence Awards event:

Read about the entries and category winners from this year's awards in the 2022 Health Service Excellence Awards e-booklet

2022 Award categories

There are five award categories in total.  Please complete an application form for each category you wish to enter.  Projects can be entered in a maximum of two categories.  There will be one award winner in each category. 

The five award categories are:

1. Improving Patient Experience - Show how changes or initiatives that your project introduced resulted in improvements in patient’s experience of our services.

This category is for projects that demonstrate how a service improved - for example patient access, information for patients e.g. webpage/scheduling, and /or enabled staff to upgrade/realign or improve a service.   Your entry should also identify the transferability of this improvement how this initiative may have had other benefits including better use of resources, staff, costs, better communications, better access to information, facilitated enhanced cooperation between services etc.   

Improving Patient Experience 

2. Innovation in Service Delivery - Show how your project has used innovative thinking and has made an improvement to the  service received by  both patient/service users/clients and for staff delivering the service in your location

The award for this category will go to projects that implemented a solution to make things better, demonstrating efficiency, sustainability and value for money.  Your project should demonstrate an integrated approach, using innovative practices, systems or technologies benefitting health service teams delivering enhanced services provision using a new concept or process with identifiable improvement results. 

Innovation in Service Delivery 

3. Excellence in Quality & Patient Safety - Show how your project made things better and improved the quality and patient safety for the patient/service user/client.

Include how your project was based on stakeholder engagement and partnerships with colleagues, patients/service users/clients.  Show how your project is patient/service user/client centred and involved patients/service users/clients in the design, development and evaluation of this project.    Demonstrate how the project could be transferable to other healthcare settings.   Your entry should also identify quality and patient safety priorities and how the project delivered measurable improvements and more targeted services that meets the needs of patients/service users/clients.

Excellence in Quality & Patient Safety 

4. Engaging a Digital solution to provide a better service - Describe how your project utilised a digital solution in order to improve a process in your area

Your project should identify how the introduction of a digital solution saves on resources and   provides a more efficient and effective result.  Describe the benefits achieved by introducing this project.  Identify the collaboration aspects of your project -  how your project enabled teams to work together and to share knowledge and experience, problem solving and decision making -  citing how this positively affected service provision, enhanced linkages across services and better patient/service user/client services planning and overall operational effectiveness 

Engaging a Digital solution to provide a better service 

5. Right Care Right Place Right Time – Sláintecare Integration - Show how your project demonstrates resilience and innovation in the Irish Health Service.

This award category will highlight and celebrate resilience and innovation in the Irish Health Service with a particular focus on projects that contribute to the delivery of Sláintecare goals. Looking towards the future of innovation and integration, the award will favour projects that deliver person-centred integrated care in three particular areas: care pathways and national plans and strategies; Enhanced Community Care; and Sláintecare Healthy Community Programmes, Social Inclusion, Social Prescribing and Mental Health

Right Care Right Place Right Time – Sláintecare Integration

Key Dates

Applications are now closed.

Shortlisted entries will be notified in May 2022.

Excellence Awards Event will be held in Sept 2022