

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire **Children's Health Ireland (CHI)**, Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Our Ref: PQ42097/21

9 September 2021

Deputy Sean Sherlock TD Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

Dear Deputy Sherlock

I refer to recent PQ which has been forwarded to me for attention.

PQ

To ask the Minister for Health if his attention has been drawn to directives underway in each hospital children's ward in which parents who must stay overnight with their child for operations or observation are not allowed to swap out with the other parent who is already in a home bubble and in cases in which the child is already in a separate room within the hospital.

I wish to advise you that the visiting guidelines at Children's Health Ireland (CHI) have been developed to protect children and their families and other visitors. The current visiting guidance during the period of COVID-19 restrictions is that one parent/guardian is permitted to stay with the child. A second parent/guardian can swap out with the parent staying at any time. This swap over is encouraged to take place outside of the clinical area.

CHI also give consideration to any parents who wish to stay with their child on compassionate grounds and this can be discussed with the duty nurse manager.

I trust this is of assistance to you.

Your sincerely

Joe Gannom

Joe Gannon Chief Operations Officer Email: joe.gannon@nchg.ie

> Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland. CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235 Board Members: Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Mr Liam Dowdall, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Turlough O'Sullivan, Mr Sean Sheehan