

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire Children's Health Ireland (CHI), Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Our Ref: PQ 31385/22

14th June 2022

Deputy Alan Farrell Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

Dear Deputy Farrell

I refer to your recent PQ which has been forwarded to me for attention.

PQ: To ask the Minister for Health the medical settings to which positive breast cancer gene patients of Our Lady's Children's Hospital, Crumlin are referred for surgical opinions; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

Childrens Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

The Department of Clinical Genetics at Children's Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin, accepts referrals for diagnostic BRCA1 and BRCA2 gene tests after a patient has been diagnosed with breast cancer. This test may determine if the patient's breast cancer was caused by a BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene mutation.

Relatives of patients who have a positive diagnosis of a BRCA1 or BRAC2 gene mutation can then avail of a predictive BRAC genetic test. If a patient tests positive for a predictive BRCA1 or BRCA2 genetic mutation, the outcome of the tests and increased risk of breast cancer factors are explained to the patient, and recommendations are provided including more frequent mammograms.

The Department of Clinical Genetics at CHI at Crumlin does not refer patients with breast cancer for surgical opinions.

I trust this is of assistance to you.

Yours sincerely

Joe Ganno-

Joe Gannon Chief Operations Officer Email: joe.gannon@nchg.ie

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland. CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235 Board Members: Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Mr Liam Dowdall, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Turlough O'Sullivan, Mr Sean Sheehan