

**Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ)**, Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire **Children's Health Ireland (CHI)**, Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Ref: PQ 11164/23

12th April 2023

Deputy Pádraig O'Sullivan Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

Dear Deputy O'Sullivan

I refer to your below PQ which has been forwarded to me for attention. Firstly, please accept my apologies for the delay in issuing a response.

PQ 11164/23: To ask the Minister for Health the steps being taken to provide treatment by an ear plastic surgeon for children born with or suffering from an ear deformity; when this service will be available on a permanent and full-time basis in the State; in the interim, what steps are being taken to put a SLA in place to enable delivery of this treatment in the State; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

## Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin have advised that the service for specialised treatment for complex congenital ear deformity is unfortunately no longer available in Ireland.

CHI at Crumlin is actively working with NHS Lothian in Scotland to set up a service level agreement for patients with congenital complex ear deformities whereby the Consultant will come to CHI at Crumlin to assist with out-patient clinics and to perform operations in theatre.

Yours sincerely

Wald Som

PROF. SEAN WALSH CLINICAL DIRECTOR/ SITE LEAD Children's Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin Crumlin, D12 N512, Ireland E ceo.admin@olchc.ie www.olchc.ie

> Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland. CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235 Board Members: Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Mr Liam Dowdall, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Turlough O'Sullivan, Mr Sean Sheehan