

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire **Children's Health Ireland (CHI),** Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Ref: PQ 43115/23

19th October 2023

Deputy Fergus O'Dowd Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

Dear Deputy O'Dowd

I refer to your below parliamentary question which has been forwarded to me for attention.

PQ 43115/23 – To ask the Minister for Health the reasons for the delay in recruitment or advertisement of recruitment for the new genomic resource associate roles at the Department of Clinical Genetics at CHI Crumlin, as specified as part of implementation of the National Genetics and Genomics Strategy, despite the fact that he allocated €2.7 million to the implementation of the strategy; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin can advise that the genomic resource associate posts have been subject to the recent embargo on recruitment to administrative and managerial posts as directed by the HSE.

The Clinical Genetics team at CHI at Crumlin had advocated for these and submitted a derogation. CHI at Crumlin received approval on 04th October but several hours later, a further notice from HSE embargoed all new and replacement posts affecting these posts again.

Yours sincerely

Prof. Sean Walsh

Clinical Director/ Site Lead

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) at Crumlin

Sean Wald

Crumlin, D12 N512, Ireland

E ceo.admin@olchc.ie www.olchc.ie

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland.

CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235

Board Members: Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Mr Bernard McLoughlin, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Sean Sheehan