

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire Children's Health Ireland (CHI), Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Ref: PQ 26049/25 & PQ 26272/25

29th May 2025

Deputy Réada Cronin Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

**Dear Deputy Cronin** 

I refer to your parliamentary questions below which have been forwarded to me for attention.

PQ 26049/25 – To ask the Minister for Health if allogenic transplants for paediatric cancer patients will be restored in hospitals as part of the National Children's Cancer Service; and if she will make a statement on the matter.

PQ 26272/25 - To ask the Minister for Health if allogenic transplants for paediatric cancer patients will be restored in hospitals as part of the National Children's Cancer Service; and if she will make a statement on the matter.

## Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) advise that allogeneic transplants will be restored as part of the National Children's Cancer Service. Access to allogeneic transplant is temporarily provided in other treatment centres under the Treatment Abroad Scheme. Children and their families are supported by CHI clinical staff pre and post this transplant procedure. CHI intend to restart allogeneic transplants provided at CHI Crumlin in 2025 and are proactively progressing all supporting measures.

Yours sincerely

**Trina Doran** 

**Directorate Operations Lead CDB** 

Email: trina.doran@childrenshealthireland.ie

Children's Health Ireland at Connolly | Crumlin | Tallaght | Temple Street

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland.

CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235

**Board Members:** Prof James Browne (Chairman), Ms Mary Cryan, Ms Mary Donovan, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Gavin Lavery, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill