Medical Exposure Radiation Unit

The Department of Health is the designated competent authority for patient radiation safety, under statutory instrument (SI) 478

(2002), for regulating medical ionising radiation in Ireland and the National Radiation Safety Committee (NRSC) is

the statutory committee established under this legislation. 

The responsibility for patient radiation protection has been delegated to the Director General (DG) of the HSE who

nominates relevant experts in radiation safety to become members of the NRSC and provide advice on matters pertaining

to medical ionising radiation exposure.

The HSE Medical Exposure Radiation Unit (MERU) was established to regulate patient radiation protection practices in both

public and private radiological facilities, and is the executive, administrative and advisory unit for the NRSC. 

The Office of Radiation Protection and Environmental Monitoring (ORPEM), is the competent authority and regulates radiation

protection practices for workers and members of the public under (SI) 125 (2000).

In 2018, the Competent Authority and regulatory functions will transfer to the Health Information and Quality Authority.   

For further information please see: Legislative changes for patient radiation protection in Ireland.pdf (size 214 KB)

Roles of the Medical Exposure Radiation Unit:

Support and manage the work of the NRSC and its sub committees.

Commission and support clinical audit in radiological facilities.

Manage the mandatory incident reporting system.

Develop and provide guidance to holders, practitioners, other staff and statutory bodies on relevant matters as guided by the NRSC.

Ensure quality assurance programmes are in place in radiological facilities.

Maintain a register of installations.

Further Information: 

Contact us:

Medical Exposure Radiation Unit (MERU)
Quality Assurance and Verification, Health Service Executive,
Room 4, 3rd Floor, Stewarts Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20, D20N292

Telephone: 01-6201624 - email /