We use small files called cookies to help us improve your experience on this website and to provide services like web chat. We also use cookies to measure the effectiveness of public health campaigns and understand how people use the website.

Read our cookies policy to find out more about cookies and how we use them.


St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network Quality Excellence Awards

Celebrating excellence everyday through improvements, initiatives & champions

ExcellenceEverywhere SLRON awards layout for website

Dublin, 23rd November 2018: St Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network (SLRON) yesterday held the first annual Quality Excellence Awards to recognise staff healthcare champions and quality improvement achievements throughout the Network. The inaugural event was held in St. Luke’s Hospital, Rathgar and was well attended by staff across SLRON including St. James’s Hospital and Beaumont, Dublin Midlands Hospital Group and the Friends of St Luke’s.

Five winners and five runners-up were announced on the night, acknowledging the achievements of individuals and teams under a number of categories including: Quality Improvement Project; Improvement Initiative Project; Best poster; and two SLRON Healthcare Champion awards, one nominated by a patient or visitor and the other nominated by a fellow staff member. Individuals and teams recognised at the inaugural SLRON Quality Excellence Awards represented the multidisciplinary approach to patient care in the Network.

SLRON is dedicated to being a world class leader in cancer treatment, patient care, research and education. The SLRON Quality Excellence Awards are an employee recognition initiative that was announced earlier this year to celebrate the individuals and multidisciplinary teams who go the extra mile and make a real difference to patients, visitors and staff and implement quality improvements that improve the service delivered to patients.

Commenting on the SLRON ‘Quality Excellence Awards’, Trevor O’Callaghan, Chief Executive Officer of the Dublin Midlands Hospital Group said:“It is important to recognise the staff and teams who work tirelessly every day to contribute to the care of patients and strive to improve efficiencies in our hospitals. On behalf of the Dublin Midlands Hospital Group, we would like to congratulate all who have won awards this year.”

Dr Orla Mc Ardle, Network Director, St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network commented:“We are proud of the high quality and excellence service offered to our patients across St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network every day. All of our staff are committed to continuously improve patient experiences and patient outcomes. This event showcases the work done by front line staff which has a direct impact on patient care.”

Colette Brett, Director of Quality, Patient Safety & Risk, St Luke's Radiation Oncology Network stated:“We are delighted to hold the first annual ‘Quality Excellence Awards’. In keeping with our values of excellence and patient centred care we want to celebrate the improvements, initiatives and research implemented in our service and the staff who care for our patients. This new yearly event will enable us to share our learning and expertise within the network among the different disciplines involved in patient care. The aim is to empower staff to continually improve the services we offer our patients and to share our learning nationally.”

Categories and winners:

Quality Improvement Project, award for a measurable implementation of a change to improve the service SLRON delivers.

Winner: Quality Improvement Project to Reduce Imaging Frequency for Prostate Radiotherapy Patients using a Bladder Scan Device - Elaine Gill
Runner-up: There Is No Business In ‘No-show’ Business - Terri Dillon, Angela Martin, Serena Brophy, Michelle Fitzsimmons, Catherine Rogerson, Tanith Lott, Dean Harper, Fiona Cotter

Quality Improvement Initiative, award for changes which improve work practices, patient experience or the service offered.

Winner: You’ve Gotta PICC A Patient or Two - Dayward Staff, St. Luke’s Hospital, Rathgar            
Runner-up: Using 3D printed technology to Create Patient Specific Bolus for External Beam Radiotherapy - Ciaran Malone, Denise Carroll, Ann Moran, Siobhan Rogers, Karla Mooney, Louise O’Neill, Brendan Curran, Sinead Brennan and Oleksandr Boychak

Best Visual Poster, award for the best visual display for entries to Quality Improvement Project and Improvement Initiative Project

Winner: Virtual Prostate Follow UP Clinic - Aine Lavelle, Claire Farrell
Runner-up: Improve Awareness of and Engagement with Radiotherapy Policies, Procedures & Guidelines - Claire Fitzpatrick and Ruth Woods

SLRON Healthcare Champion, to recognise staff who have gone the extra mile to make a real difference to both patients & staff

Patient nominated

Winner: Gary Reilly, Security
Runner-up: Fiona Liston, Clinical Specialist Nurse

Staff nominated

Winner: Dr Guhan Rangaswamy, Radiation Oncologist Senior Registrar
Runner-up: Dr Emma Fagan, Radiation Oncologist, Registrar

Photo Captions:

  • Winners of the St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network Quality Excellence Awards
  • Helen Stokes, General Manager, Dublin Midlands Hospital Group; Colette Brett, Director of Quality, Patient Safety & Risk, St Luke's Radiation Oncology Network; Dr Orla Mc Ardle, Network Director, St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network; Sonia Shortt, Group HR Director, Dublin Midlands Hospital Group; , Joseph Campbell, Chief Financial Officer, Dublin Midlands Hospital Group
  • Dr Guhan Rangaswamy, winner of the staff nominated SLRON Healthcare Champion with Dr Orla Mc Ardle, Network Director, St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network
  • Gary Reilly, winner of the patient nominated SLRON Healthcare Champion with Dr Orla Mc Ardle, Network Director, St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network