Obstetrics and Gynaecology

The National Clinical Programme for Obstetrics and Gynaecology is a joint initiative between HSE Clinical Design and Innovation and Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, RCPI. Professor Michael Turner of the UCD Centre for Human Reproduction at the Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital is the Clinical Lead, and the overarching aim of the national programme is to ‘improve choices in women's healthcare’.

The Programme takes direction and guidance from the Clinical Advisory Group, a select group of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists from the Institute.  This group is chaired by Dr Peter Boylan, and meets at least four times each year.  The programme reports to Clinical Design and Innovation in the HSE, which is led by Dr Áine Carroll.

The Programme established a multi-disciplinary national working group to harvest the views of and gain consensus from the range of healthcare providers associated with maternity services, including midwifery, obstetrics, gynaecology, anaesthesia and allied health professionals. 

A multi-disciplinary working group was established at the start of the programme to examine and make recommendations on the clinical, strategic and operational planning of the work of the National Clinical Programme in Obstetrics and Gynaecology working group and to support the implementation of the programme.

The objectives of the working group are:

  • To provide a forum for multidisciplinary advice on clinical, operational and strategic matters to the National Clinical Programme in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.
  • To support the formation of subgroups as required in the development or implementation of the work of the Programme.   
  • To liaise with stakeholders when requested by the Programme Clinical Lead.
  • To disseminate and communicate relevant information pertaining to the Programme with representative groups and relevant stakeholders. 
  • To support and advise on the implementation of the of the Programme.


A list of the National Working Group members