Where is Radiotherapy provided?

Public radiotherapy facilities are provided in Dublin, Cork and Galway.

In Dublin the St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network (SLRON) provides radiotherapy across three locations; in St. Luke’s Hospital and in St Luke’s Radiation Oncology Units on the grounds of St James’s and Beaumont Hospitals.  These three centres operate as a clinical network, with a centralised referral process for all patients, and with standard clinical practice guidelines. 

There are four linear Accelerators in each of the three centres.

Galway: There are three linear accelerators, on the University College Hospital campus.

Cork: Cork University Hospital has four linear accelerators.

The HSE also has service level arrangements in place in Limerick and in Waterford where radiotherapy is provided with private sector partners.