We use strictly necessary cookies to make our site work. We would also like to set optional cookies (analytical, functional and YouTube) to enhance and improve our service. You can opt-out of these cookies. By clicking “Accept All Cookies” you can agree to the use of all cookies.

Cookies Statement and Privacy Statement

BAHÁ’Í religion Guide

Main Guide Menu

BahaiThe Nine-pointed Star is a common symbol in the Bahá’í religion. The number 9 is significant in the holy texts of the religion.


The Bahá’í movement is the youngest of the world’s independent religions. It is based on the teachings of its Founder, Bahá’u’lláh, who emerged in the mid-19th century in what was then Persia, now Iran.

Bahá’ís believe in the existence of one God, the fundamental equality of all people, and that Divine revelation continues to be renewed by new Messengers who preach the same fundamental messages updated to the current needs of humanity. The Bahá’ís see Abraham, Moses, Krishna, Buddha, Jesus Christ, Muhammad and Bahá’u’lláh as Messengers of God.

Today there are an estimated 7 million members in over two hundred and thirty countries. There are no clergy in the Bahá’í religion; it is administered locally by democratically elected councils, called Spiritual Assemblies. There is also a National Spiritual Assembly, responsible for all the affairs of the Bahá’í community in Ireland. The Universal House of Justice, in Haifa, Israel, oversees the international Bahá’í community.