HSE National Standards for Safer Better Health Care in Addiction Services

About the Standards…

The Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA) has the national role to set and monitor standards for the quality and safety of

  • health and
  • social care services in Ireland.

The National Social Inclusion Office is supporting HSE Addiction Services to promote and support quality and safety within addiction services in line  with the HSE National Standards.


The National Standards for Safer Better Healthcare are grouped into 8 themes

  1. Person-centered care and support
  • How services place the service user at the center of their delivery of care. This includes the concept of access, equity and protection of rights.
  1. Effective care and support
  • How services deliver best outcomes for service users.
  1. Safe care and support
  • How services avoid, prevent and minimise harm to service users and learn from when things go wrong.
  1. Better health and wellbeing
  • How services identify and take opportunities to support service users to improve their own health and wellbeing.
  1. Leadership, governance and management
  • The arrangements put in place by a service for clear accountability, decision making and risk management as well as meeting their long term goals, statutory and financial obligations.
  1. Workforce
  • Planning, recruiting, managing and organising a workforce with the necessary numbers and skills.
  1. Use of resources
  • Using resources effectively and efficiently to deliver best possible outcomes for service users.
  1. Use of information
  • Actively using information as a resource for planning, delivering, monitoring, managing and improving care.