Hospital Groups

The hospitals in Ireland are organised into Seven Hospital Groups. The services delivered include inpatient scheduled care, unscheduled/emergency care, maternity services, outpatient and diagnostic services.  The Group Chief Executive of each Hospital Group reports to the National Director for Acute Services and is accountable for their Hospital Groups planning and performance under the HSE Accountability Framework.

Each Hospital Group publishes an Annual Operational Plan that is aligned to the Acute Hospitals Division Operational Plan

 In 2016 the HSE introduced a new funding model for hospital care for inpatient and day-case services  known as  Activity Based Funding’ (ABF) .  This means a specified price is paid to each hospital for each weighted unit of inpatient work and each weighted unit of day-case work. Emergency care, outpatient care and other services continue to receive traditional block grant allocations.

 Seven Hospital Groups

 Ireland East Hospital Group 

  • The Mater Misericordiae University Hospital Dublin
  • St Vincent's University Hospital Dublin
  • Midland Regional Hospital Mullingar
  • St Luke's General Hospital, Kilkenny
  • Wexford General Hospital
  • Our Lady's Hospital, Navan
  •  St Columcille's Hospital Loughlinstown Dublin
  •  St Michael's Hospital, Dun Laoghaire
  • Cappagh National Orthopaedic Hospital Dublin
  • Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital Dublin
  • National Maternity Hospital Dublin

 The Hospital Groups Academic Partner is University College Dublin (UCD)

Contact Details  Ireland East Hospital Group, 

Ireland East Hospital Group

C/O Mater Misericordiae University Hospital

Eccles Street ; Dublin 

D07 R2WY


Chairperson: Mr. Thomas Lynch

CEO Mary Day

COO: Ann Donovan

Strategic Director of Organisation Development & Change : Paula Lawler

Co Clinical Directors: Kevin O’Malley (MMUH) and Risteard O’Laoide (SVUH)


RCSI Hospitals Group 

  • Beaumont Hospital Dublin
  • Connolly Hospital Dublin
  • Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital Drogheda
  • Louth County Hospital Dundalk
  • Cavan General Hospital
  • Monaghan Hospital
  • Rotunda Hospital Dublin

The Hospital Groups Academic Partner is the Royal College of Surgeons (RCSI) Dublin

Contact Details 

 RCSI Hospitals Group, 111 St. Stephens Green Dublin 2

Chairperson:  Ms. Anne Maher

CEO: Mr Ian Carter

COO: Ms Sheila McGuinness

Clinical Director:Professor Paddy Broe


Dublin Midlands Hospital Group 

Bridgewater House, Bridgewater Business Centre, Conyngham Road, Islandbridge, Dublin DO8 T9NH

  • St James’ Hospital Dublin
  • St Lukes Radiation Oncology Network
  • The Adelaide &Meath Hospital (Tallaght Hospital) Dublin
  • Midlands Regional Hospital Tullamore
  • Naas General Hospital
  • Midlands Regional Hospital Portlaoise
  • The Coombe Women & Infant University Hospital Dublin

 The Hospital Groups Academic Partner is Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

Contact Details


Phone: 076 6959287

Trevor O'Callaghan, Chief Executive Officer (Interim)


Mr Martin Feeley, Clinical Director


Orlagh Claffey, Chief Operations Officer (Interim)



Ms Sonia Shortt, Director of Human Resources



Mr Joseph Campbell, Chief Financial Officer



Ms Eileen Whelan, Chief Director of Nursing & Midwifery



University Limerick Hospitals Group 

  • University Hospital Limerick
  • University Maternity Hospital Limerick,
  • Ennis Hospital,
  • Nenagh Hospital,
  • Croom Hospital

 The Hospital Groups academic partner is University of Limerick

 Contact Details

UL Hospital Group, UL Hospital Limerick

Tel: 061 301111


Chairman: Professor Niall Higgins

CEO: Colette Cowan

COO: Noreen Spillane

Clinical Director: Mr. Paul Burke


South/South West Hospital Group 

  • Cork University Hospital/Cork University Maternity Hospital;
  • University Hospital Waterford
  • University Hospital Kerry 
  • Mercy University Hospital
  • South Tipperary General Hospital
  • South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital
  • Bantry General Hospital
  • Mallow General Hospital
  • Lourdes Orthopaedic Hospital Kilcreene

 The Hospital Groups Academic Partner is University College Cork (UCC)

Contact Details

South/ South West Hospital Group,

Erinville, Western Road, Cork   T 12 EDKO

Tel: (021) 4921509

CEO: Gerry O’ Dwyer

Saolta Hospital Group 

  • University Hospital Galway and Merlin Park University Hospital
  • Sligo Regional Hospital
  • Letterkenny University Hospital
  • Mayo General Hospital
  • Portiuncula Hospital
  • Roscommon County Hospital

The Hospital Groups academic partner is National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG)

Contact Details

Saolta Hospital Group, University Hospital Galway | Newcastle | Galway H91 YR71 Ireland

Ph: 091 524222 


Chair: Dr John Killeen

CEO: Maurice Power

Acting COO: Ann Cosgrove

Clinical Director: Dr Pat Nash


The Children’s Hospital Group 

Contact Details 

Postal Address:

Children’s Hospital Group, Block A Herberton, St James’s Walk, Rialto, Dublin 8


Tel No:

0766 595 192




James Browne


Eilish Hardiman


Orla O’ Brien

Clinical Directors: 

Dr Peter Greally

Addl info:

The National Paediatric Development Boards is responsible for developing the 
new Childrens