Intern Training Networks

There are six Intern Training Networks in Ireland, each based around a Medical School. Intern training posts are structured so that all rotations are undertaken within the same Intern Training Network.

Each Intern Training Network is led by an Intern Network Coordinator who is a consultant doctor with educational experience.

The Intern Network Coordinator is responsible for organizing and overseeing intern training within their network and ensuring the provision of appropriate, agreed educational programmes for interns. The Intern Network Coordinators collaborate collectively through the Intern Networks Executive and with the HSE on a national basis to ensure consistency across the Networks.

Intern Network Coordinators are expected to meet the requirements as set by the Medical Council of Ireland in relation to intern training and sign-off, in order to satisfy the Council’s criteria for granting a Certificate of Experience.

Here are the 6 Intern Training Networks with their respective Medical Schools:

  • West/Northwest (UG)                    
  • Dublin/Northeast (RCSI)
  • Dublin/Mid-Leinster (UCD)
  • Dublin/Southeast (TCD)
  • South (UCC)
  • Mid-West (UL)  


Clinical sites where Intern Posts are based

Check the full list of the clinical sites for Intern Training 2023-2024 (PDF)