Enhanced Community Care

Enhanced Community Care (ECC) programme - care closer to home

The HSE’s Enhanced Community Care (ECC) programme is enhancing and increasing community health services and reducing pressure on hospital services. This means more services closer to where people live. Especially for older people and people with chronic disease. 

The programme helps health and social care services to:

  • manage care at a local level
  • support the transition from hospitals to the community

ECC is a €240 million investment in community health services that is part of the Sláintecare programme.

ECC Conference 2022

Read about the national ECC Conference held in Dublin Castle in September 2022. Watch a full conference recording, download or read presentations from expert clinicians and teams.

Progress

The rollout of ECC is ongoing. Up to September 2022 the programme has delivered:

The programme expects to achieve a 20% reduction in:  

  • people aged over 75 admitted to emergency departments (in hospitals with Community Specialist Teams for older people)
  • non-elective admissions for many chronic conditions

Community Healthcare Networks (CHN)

CHNs deliver primary healthcare services across Ireland. Each network serves a population of about 50,000 people.  They improve the experience of using these services by:

  • supporting people to live more independently in the community
  • coordinating and integrating services to meet health needs
  • supporting collaborative working to provide person-centred care
  • ensuring access to services nationwide at the right time

The ECC programme will also develop a volunteer model with Alone. This will help to coordinate community and voluntary supports in each CHN. 

Find out more about CHNs.

Community Specialist Teams for older people

Community Specialist Teams provide support and services based on the needs and choices of older people. Older people have access to a range of clinics and services, such as: 

  • rapid access clinics
  • falls and frailty clinics
  • memory assessments
  • nurse-led clinics 
  • therapy-led clinics

Each team serves a population of about 150,000 people.

Community Specialist Teams for chronic disease

Community Specialist Teams for chronic disease help people to understand and manage their illness. This includes access to:

  • diagnostics
  • GP services
  • specialist supports in the community

Community Intervention Teams (CIT)

CITs provide care to patients with a sudden illness who require enhanced services/acute intervention for a short period of time.

Jobs

You can search for jobs in your area. Or contact your local Community Healthcare Organisation (CHO) for more information about jobs near you.

CHO area Contact Email address Phone
1. Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim, West Cavan, Cavan, Monaghan Lynn Stoddart lynn.stoddart@hse.ie 087 177 9197
2. Galway, Roscommon, Mayo Linda Fitzgerald linda.fitzgerald@hse.ie 087 630 3829
3. Clare, Limerick, North Tipperary, East Limerick Sarah Hurley sarah.hurley@hse.ie 087 677 5477
4. Kerry, Cork Violet Ross violet.ross@hse.ie 086 787 1762
5. South Tipperary, Carlow, Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford Deirdre Maher deirdre.maher2@hse.ie 087 752 6976
6. Wicklow, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin South East Sarah Jane Clarke sarahjane.clarke@hse.ie 087 108 3742
7. Kildare, West Wicklow, Dublin West, Dublin South City, Dublin South West Ger Cully geraldine.cully@hse.ie 086 822 9197
8. Laois, Offaly, Longford, Westmeath, Louth, Meath Martina O’Byrne martina.obyrne@hse.ie 086 046 9765
9. Dublin North, Dublin North Central, Dublin North West Regina Reynolds regina.reynolds1@hse.ie 086 388 1553